ATTENTION: Your browser appears to have scripting disabled. Aspects of this website require that JavaScript be enabled to function properly.
To ensure full functionality, please enable JavaScript in your browser, or enable scripting for this website.
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Kel Seliger: District 31
Kel Seliger

Occupation: Steel Service Centers, Klockner/Lake Steel

Education: Graduate of Borger Public Schools and Dartmouth College

Legislative Experience: Senate Member: 2004 - present

Hometown: Amarillo

Party: Republican

Kel Seliger was first elected to the Texas Senate in 2004. Senate District 31 spans 37 counties from the Panhandle to the Permian Basin and includes Amarillo, Midland, Odessa and Big Spring.

Born in Amarillo and raised in Borger, Senator Seliger is a graduate of Borger public schools and Dartmouth College. He spent 35 years in the steel industry.

Senator Seliger currently serves as Chairman of the Senate Higher Education Committee and is a member of the Senate Education Committee, Senate Finance Committee, and Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development.

Senator Seliger has been recognized by many groups for his conservative principles as well as his dedication to small government and local control. He has been named a Fighter for Free Enterprise by the Texas Association of Business four times for his steadfast support of policies that encourage and promote a healthy business climate in Texas. Seliger is privileged to be the recipient of the Texas Municipal League Legislator of the Year Award, Texas Conservative Coalition's Conservative Champion Award, Texas Association of Counties Friend of County Government Award, Texas Wildlife Association's Conservation Hero Award, the Conservative Roundtable of Texas' Effective Conservative Lawmaker, and the Texas Parent Teacher Association Legislative Honor Roll.

During the 85th Legislative Session, as Chairman of the Senate Higher Education Committee, Senator Seliger secured an additional $1.07 million in funding for the University of Texas of the Permian Basin College of Engineering, which will be used to expand the chemical and electrical engineering programs. Additionally, $4.2 million is provided to UTPB as a hold harmless, to ensure the school does not lose more than 10 percent of its state funding. Senator Seliger also succeeded in securing $4.17 million for Texas Tech University's future Veterinary Medical School.

As part of his continued service on the Education Committee, Seliger authored Senate Bill 463, a bill that extends the option of Individual Graduation Committees for students who passed all of their courses, but failed to pass up to two state-mandated tests.

Chairman Seliger and Representative John Smithee championed House Bill 1463 to reduce frivolous lawsuits and aggressive shake-down tactics related to the Americans with Disabilities Act that harm small business in Texas. Together Smithee and Seliger also passed Senate Bill 654, which will help improve access to health care in rural and medically underserved parts of Texas.

Prior to his election to the Senate, Senator Seliger served four terms as Mayor of Amarillo and as a member of the Amarillo City Commission and the Amarillo Civil Service Commission.

He and his wife Nancy reside in Amarillo, and have two sons, Jonathan and Matthew.

Office Information

Capitol Address District Address
Physical Address
The Honorable Kel Seliger
State Capitol, Room 1E.12
Austin, TX 78701

Mailing Address:
The Honorable Kel Seliger
P.O. Box 12068
Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711

(512) 463-0131 (TEL)
(512) 475-3733 (FAX)
Amarillo District Office
The Amarillo District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher and Wheeler.

410 S. Taylor, Suite 1600
Amarillo, TX 79101

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 9155
Amarillo, TX 79105

(806) 374-8994 (TEL)
(806) 374-4607 (FAX)
District Address District Address
Midland District Office
The Midland District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Midland, Loving, Winkler and Gaines.

6 Desta Drive, Suite 3360
Midland, TX 79705

(432) 620-0436 (TEL)
(432) 686-7748 (FAX)
Odessa District Office
The Odessa District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Ector and Andrews.

6005 Eastridge Rd., Suite 210
Odessa, TX 79762

(432) 620-0436 (TEL)
(432) 686-7748 (FAX)
District Address  
Big Spring District Office
The Big Spring District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Howard, Martin, Glasscock, Bailey, Cochran and Yoakum.

401 Austin, Suite 101
Big Spring, TX 79720

(432) 268-9909 (TEL)
(432) 268-9899 (FAX)