Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Robert Nichols: District 3
News Release
January 13, 2014
Contact: Steven Albright
(512) 463-0103
Nichols named Chairman of Senate Select Committee on Transportation Funding

Austin — This week, Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) was named Chairman of the Texas Senate Select Committee on Transportation Funding, Expenditures and Finance by Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst.

"I am honored to receive this assignment," said Nichols. "Lieutenant Governor Dewhurst has shown great leadership on transportation issues and I look forward to working with the members of the Legislature to find innovative ideas and solutions to the transportation funding issues that face our state."

The select committee has been tasked with studying and reporting on the future reliability of current state transportation funding sources, alternatives that may increase available state funding for surface transportation, the use of debt financing in state transportation and finding alternative transportation funding options.

"As our state continues to grow, traffic continues to rise and our highway systems age, we must identify additional revenue to address our current and future needs and maintain the existing infrastructure to the level Texans expect and deserve," said Nichols.

Nichols has served on the Senate Transportation Committee since 2007, and was named Chairman of the committee during the 83rd Legislature. Prior to being elected to the Texas Senate, Nichols served as a Texas Transportation Commissioner for eight years where he established a reputation for increasing efficiency without compromising quality.

Nichols was first elected to the Texas Senate in 2006. In addition to Transportation, Nichols serves on the Senate Natural Resources, Health and Human Services, and State Affairs Committees. He also serves as Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Intergovernmental Relations and is a former Vice Chairman of the Sunset Advisory Committee.