Lucio Masthead Graphic
Press Release
November 12, 1999
Contact: Doris Sanchez
(512) 463-0127
Sen. Lucio honored as one of "Eleven Best" legislators by the Texas Civil Justice League

AUSTIN, Texas--Today state Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr., D-Brownsville, was honored by the Texas Civil Justice League at its 14th annual meeting as one of the "Eleven Best" legislators of the 76th Legislative Session.

The only Democrat Senator to be given this award, Senator Lucio was hailed as the "dean of civil justice reform in the Senate" by the League. Senator Lucio authored and passed the Frivolous Lawsuit Bill during the 74th legislative session. Senate Bill 31 was at the forefront of tort reform and was aimed at eliminating frivolous claims while still allowing fair access to courts for legitimate litigation.

The League further praised the Senator's efforts by saying, "Since his election in 1986, Senator Lucio has steadfastly supported tort reform in every session, and has authored or co-authored every significant reform bill over the last decade. This session he carried the government standards legislation. Senator Lucio also led this session's effort to bring economic development to the Texas-Mexico border and to improve conditions in the colonias. The League is proud to have supported Senator Lucio in his first election campaign and in every election since. He has proven to be a bipartisan leader of great ability, and we are grateful for his service to the people of this state."

Senator Lucio added, "I am honored and pleased to receive this distinguished recognition and I commend the work of the Civil Justice League for its efforts in ensuring fairness and promoting needed reform in civil justice in this state."

Besides Senator Lucio, the other legislators to receive this honor are Senators Robert Duncan, R-Lubbock, Teel Bivins, R-Amarillo; Bill Ratliff, R-Mt. Pleasant; David Sibley, R-Waco; and Troy Fraser, R-Horseshoe Bay; and Representatives Rob Junell, D-San Angelo; Brian McCall, R-Plano; Tom Uher, D-Bay City; Ron Clark, R-Sherman; and Toby Goodman, R-Arlington.