Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Judith Zaffirini: District 21
Press Release
February 25, 2020
Contact: Sarah Pollock
Twelve Outstanding Area Students Receive Mr. South Texas Scholarships

(LAREDO) — The Mr. South Texas Foundation (MSTF) today (Tuesday) awarded $1,000 scholarships to 12 potential future Mr. South Texas honorees from Laredo high schools, Laredo Community College and Texas A&M International University.

"These outstanding students personify our foundation's motto—From Scholarship to Leadership," said Senator Judith Zaffirini, MSTF president. "I am delighted to recognize them because they have not only excelled in academics and extracurricular activities, but also demonstrated commitment to community service and dedication to family. We are proud of their achievements and expect them to surpass these accomplishments."

When the Washington's Birthday Celebration Association named her Mr. South Texas in 1999, Senator Zaffirini established the MSTF and raised the money for the annual scholarships. Her goal was to honor students deemed the most likely future Mr. South Texas honorees and who would pledge to return to South Texas.

Celebrating its 21st anniversary, the foundation has provided $206,000 in scholarships to 206 Laredo students. Selection criteria include a commitment to live in South Texas after college graduation, a minimum "B" average in high school, minimum 90 percent attendance, exemplary character and leadership potential.

"Investing in promising students pursuing higher education benefits our state and region," Senator Zaffirini said. "Higher education will equip these future leaders with the knowledge and skills they need to continue to excel and to help countless others throughout their lives."

The scholarship presentation ceremony was hosted at Texas A&M International by Dr. Pablo Arenaz, the university's president; Dr. Thomas Mitchell, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; and Dr. Minita Ramírez, Dean of Student Success.

The 2020 Mr. South Texas Foundation scholarship recipients are:

  • Gustavo Alcantar, St. Augustine High School
  • Alexis Carrillo, Martin High School
  • Vivian Coleman, Nixon High School
  • Angel Hernández, United South High School
  • Jocelyn Hernández, Harmony School of Excellence
  • Paola Hernández, United High School
  • Treigh Hernández, Laredo College
  • Ricardo Méndez, J.B. Alexander High School
  • Carlos Ramírez, Cigarroa High School
  • Mariana Rodríguez, Texas A&M International University
  • Derly Rojo, Early College High School
  • Luis Valdez, Lyndon B. Johnson High School

For additional information regarding the scholarship, please contact the Mr. South Texas Foundation at 956/722-2293.

Z photo

HIGH-ACHIEVING STUDENTS from Laredo high schools and higher education institutions receive the Mr. South Texas Scholarship at a ceremony Tuesday at Texas A&M International University. Shown standing (L-R) are Dr. Thomas Mitchell; scholarship recipients Treigh Hernández, Derly Rojo and Angel Hernández; Senator Zaffirini; recipients Alexis Carrillo, Jocelyn Hernández and Gustavo Alcantar; and Dr. Pablo Arenaz and Dr. Minita Ramírez. Shown sitting (L-R) are recipients Mariana Rodríguez, Vivian Coleman, Paola Hernández, Luis Valdez, Carlos Ramírez and Ricardo Méndez.