Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Judith Zaffirini: District 21
Press Release
August 18, 2017
Contact: Will Krueger
(512) 463-0121
Exceptional Students Receive Mr. South Texas Scholarship
Scholarship Awarded to Potential Future Mr. South Texas Honorees

(LAREDO) — The Mr. South Texas Foundation (MSTF) yesterday (Thursday) awarded $1,000 scholarships to 11 potential future Mr. South Texas honorees from Laredo high schools, Laredo Community College and Texas A&M International University.

"These outstanding students personify our foundation's motto—From Scholarship to Leadership," said Senator Judith Zaffirini, MSTF president. "They have demonstrated excellence not only in their academic pursuits, but also in extracurricular activities and community service. We are proud of what they have achieved in high school, and, what's more, we expect them to surpass these accomplishments as they pursue their higher education and career goals."

When the Washington's Birthday Celebration Association named her Mr. South Texas in 1999, Senator Zaffirini established the MSTF and raised the money for the annual scholarships. Her goal was to honor students deemed the most likely future Mr. South Texas honorees and who will pledge to return to South Texas.

Celebrating its 18th anniversary, the foundation has provided $172,000 in scholarships to 172 Laredo students. Selection criteria include a commitment to live in South Texas after college graduation, a minimum "B" average in high school, minimum 90 percent attendance, exemplary character and leadership potential.

"These scholarships are an investment in promising students whose success will benefit our region and state," Senator Zaffirini said. "Higher education will equip them with the knowledge and skills they need to continue to excel and to help others when they return to South Texas."

The scholarship presentation ceremony was hosted at Texas A&M International by Dr. Pablo Arenaz, the university's president; Dr. Thomas Mitchell, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; and Dr. Minita Ramirez, Dean of Student Success.

The 2017 Mr. South Texas Foundation scholarship recipients are:

  • Albert Betancourt, Lyndon B. Johnson
  • Maria del Carmen Castillo, United High School
  • Maria Aileen Contreras, United South High School
  • Timothy John Domingo, Early College High School
  • Mia Angelique Garcia, J.B. Alexander High School
  • Robert González, St. Augustine High School
  • Iridian Lucas, Martin High School
  • Rachel Sofianna Mora, Nixon High School
  • Regina Rodríguez, Cigarroa High School
  • Julio Reyes Jr., Texas A&M International University
  • Jocelyn Martinez, Laredo Community College

For additional information regarding the scholarship, please contact the Mr. South Texas Foundation via 956/722-2293.

Z photo

HIGH-ACHIEVING STUDENTS from Laredo high schools and higher education institutions receive the Mr. South Texas Scholarship at a ceremony Thursday at Texas A&M International University. Shown in back (L-R) are Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Thomas Mitchell, Jocelyn Martinez, Robert González, Timothy John Domingo, Albert Betancourt, Julio Reyes Jr., Vice President for Student Success Dr. Minita Ramirez and President Dr. Pablo Arenaz; and in front (L-R) Mia Angelique Garcia, Maria del Carmen Castillo, Maria Aileen Contreras, Regina Rodríguez and Iridian Lucas.