Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Judith Zaffirini: District 21
Press Release
August 2, 2016
Contact: Will Krueger
(512) 463-0121
11 High-Achieving Students Receive Mr. South Texas Scholarship

(LAREDO) — The Mr. South Texas Foundation (MSTF) awarded $1,000 scholarships to 11 potential future Mr. South Texas honorees from Laredo high schools, Laredo Community College and Texas A&M International University yesterday (Tuesday).

"Our foundation's motto—From Scholarship to Leadership—reflects our mission to help outstanding students achieve their higher education goals before they return to South Texas as leaders," said Senator Judith Zaffirini, MSTF president. "These 11 future leaders lead by example, and they have demonstrated a commitment not only to excellence in academics and extracurricular activities, but also to family and community service. "

When the Washington's Birthday Celebration Association named her Mr. South Texas in 1999, Senator Zaffirini established the MSTF and raised the money for the annual scholarships. Her goal was to honor students deemed the most likely future Mr. South Texas honorees and who will pledge to return to South Texas.

Celebrating its 17th anniversary, the foundation has provided $161,000 in scholarships to 161 Laredo students. Selection criteria include a commitment to live in South Texas after college graduation, a minimum "B" average in high school, minimum 90 percent attendance, exemplary character and leadership potential.

"Our state and region benefit when we invest in promising students pursuing higher education," Senator Zaffirini said. "Higher education will open doors for these students and equip them with the knowledge and skills they need to achieve their dreams. What's more, it will prepare them to help countless others throughout their lives."

The scholarship presentation ceremony was hosted by Dr. Pablo Arenaz, interim president, and Dr. Minita Ramirez, dean of student success, at A&M International.

The 2016 Mr. South Texas Foundation scholarship recipients are:

  • Rebecca Marie Guerrero, United South High School
  • Celeste Maria Gonzalez, St. Augustine High School
  • Marco Damian Guajardo, J.W. Nixon High School
  • Bryan Lara, Early College High School
  • Andres Martinez, Alexander High School
  • Cesar Navarro, Lyndon B. Johnson High School
  • David Ivan Nuñez, Cigarroa High School
  • José Ochoa, United High School
  • Gabriela Torres-Gomez, Martin High School
  • Nelly Guadalupe Garcia, Laredo Community College
  • Stephanie Martinez, Texas A&M International University

For additional information regarding the scholarship, please contact the Mr. South Texas Foundation at 956/722-2293.

Z photo

HIGH-ACHIEVING STUDENTS from Laredo high schools and higher education institutions receive the Mr. South Texas Scholarship at a ceremony Tuesday at Texas A&M International University. Shown standing (L-R) are José Ochoa, Marco Damian Guajardo, Stephanie Martinez, Gabriela Torres-Gomez, Senator Judith Zaffirini, Texas A&M International Interim President Dr. Pablo Arenaz, College of Arts and Sciences Dean Dr. Thomas Mitchell and Vice President for Student Success Dr. Minita Ramirez; and seated (L-R) Andres Martinez, Celeste Maria Gonzalez, Bryan Lara, Rebecca Marie Guerrero, David Ivan Nuñez and Nelly Guadalupe Garcia.