Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Judith Zaffirini: District 21
Press Release
August 19, 2014
Contact: Will Krueger
(512) 463-0121
Mr. South Texas Scholarship Awarded to 11 High-Achieving Students

(LAREDO)— Eleven outstanding students from Laredo high schools, Laredo Community College and Texas A&M International University today received $1,000 scholarships from the Mr. South Texas Foundation (MSTF).

"The Mr. South Texas Foundation's mission is to help students transition From Scholarship to Leadership," said Senator Judith Zaffirini, MSTF president. "Our honorees pledge to return to South Texas after meeting their impressive higher education goals, and I am delighted to recognize them as future leaders for our region."

When the Washington's Birthday Celebration Association named her Mr. South Texas in 1999, Senator Zaffirini made a commitment to help future generations of leaders in the region. Accordingly, she established the MSTF and raised the money for the annual scholarships.

Celebrating its 15th anniversary in 2014, the foundation has provided $139,000 in scholarships to 139 Laredo students. Each scholarship recipient is selected as his or her class's most likely future Mr. South Texas honoree.

"Higher education can open doors of opportunity and changes lives for the better," Senator Zaffirini said. "Accordingly, helping promising students achieve their higher education goals is one of the best investments we can make in the future of our state and region."

The scholarship presentation ceremony was hosted by Dr. Ray Keck, president, and Dr. Minita Ramirez, dean of student success, at A&M International.

The 2014 Mr. South Texas Foundation scholarship recipients are:

  • Aurora Alaniz, Laredo Early College High School
  • Vidal Cantú, St. Augustine High School
  • Alejandro Díaz, Nixon High School
  • Esteban Elizondo, United High School
  • James Gutiérrez, Laredo Community College
  • Fernando Maciel, Lyndon B. Johnson High School
  • Rebecca Palacios, Texas A&M International University
  • David Reyes, Martin High School
  • Eduardo Salinas, Alexander High School
  • Sarai Tafolla, Cigarroa High School
  • Noe Treviño, United South High School

"These students are among the best and the brightest in South Texas," Senator Zaffirini said. "They not only excel in academics and extracurricular activities, but also demonstrate superior commitment to their families and to our community."

For additional information regarding the scholarship, please contact the Mr. South Texas Foundation at 956/722-2293.

Z photo

"FROM SCHOLARSHIP TO LEADERSHIP" is the motto of the Mr. South Texas Foundation, which Senator Judith Zaffirini founded to provide scholarships for high-achieving students who pledge to return to South Texas after meeting their impressive higher education goals. At a ceremony on Tuesday (Aug. 19) the senator and Texas A&M International President Ray Keck congratulated the students, including standing (L-R) David Reyes, Noe Treviño III, Fernando Maciel and James A. Gutiérrez; and seated (L-R) Alejandro Gabriel Díaz, Sarai Tafolla and Aurora Alaniz.