Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Judith Zaffirini: District 21
Press Release
June 15, 2011
Contact: Will Krueger
(512) 463-0121
High-Achieving Students Awarded Mr. South Texas Scholarships by Senator Judith Zaffirini

(LAREDO) — Eleven students from Laredo high schools, Laredo Community College and Texas A&M International University were honored with $1,000 scholarships by the Mr. South Texas Foundation (MSTF) on Wednesday (June 15).

"These outstanding students are the future leaders of our region, and I am delighted to recognize them," said Senator Judith Zaffirini, MSTF president. "They have not only excelled in academics and extracurricular activities, but also demonstrated commitment to community service and dedication to family."

When the Washington's Birthday Celebration Association honored her as Mr. South Texas in 1999, Senator Zaffirini made a commitment to help future generations of leaders in the region. Accordingly, she established the MSTF and raised the money for the annual scholarships.

Wednesday's presentation ceremony was hosted by Dr. Ray Keck, President, and Dr. Minita Ramirez, Dean of Student Success, at A&M International. Each honoree was selected as his or her class's most likely future Mr. South Texas honoree.

"The Mr. South Texas Foundation's mission is to aid students in their transition From Scholarship to Leadership," Senator Zaffirini said. "It is my belief that the young men and women selected for the scholarship understand their responsibility to return to South Texas to improve the quality of life for their fellow citizens."

The 2011 Mr. South Texas Foundation scholarship recipients are:

  • Eugene Yi, Alexander High School
  • Rogelio Gonzalez, Cigarroa High School
  • Enrique Ramirez, LBJ High School
  • Fernando Medina, Martin High School
  • Juan Garcia, Nixon High School
  • Samantha Guarneros, St. Augustine High School
  • George Tom Yang, United High School
  • Carlos Hernandez, United South High School
  • Jesus Gonzalo Martinez, Laredo Early College High School
  • Alexandra Adriana Delgado, Laredo Community College
  • Marco Antonio Dimas, Texas A&M International University.

Celebrating its 12th anniversary in 2011, the foundation has provided $107,000 in scholarships to Laredo students.

"Helping young persons achieve their higher education goals is one of the best ways we can impact the future of our city positively," Senator Zaffirini said. "It is my hope that all Laredoans will join me in congratulating these students and in opening doors for future generations of youth."

For additional information regarding the Mr. South Texas Foundation, please contact Teresa Carrales at 956/722-2293.