Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Judith Zaffirini: District 21
Press Release
October 31, 2008
Contact: Celeste Villarreal
(512) 463-0121
Senator Zaffirini Announces Counties Eligible for TxDOT Program

(AUSTIN) - Senator Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo, announced today (Friday) that 10 Senate District 21 counties are eligible for the Economically Disadvantaged Counties Program (EDCP). Bee, Dimmit, Duval, Frio, Karnes, La Salle, San Patricio, Starr, Webb and Zavala counties are eligible to apply for this Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) program, which provides assistance for transportation projects such as right of way, project development and construction costs.

Eligibility for the EDCP program is based upon a county having above average unemployment rates, below average per capita incomes and below average per capita taxable property values as compared to other counties. To qualify, a county must meet all three of these criteria.

"The EDCP program is important because eligible counties may apply for the program and receive assistance in improving local transportation issues," Senator Zaffirini said. "I am delighted that there is an opportunity for counties in my district to access needed funds.

"These grants will allow eligible counties to enhance the safety, health and well-being of our mutual constituents and will improve greatly the quality of life for residents."