Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Judith Zaffirini: District 21
Press Release
October 8, 2007
Contact: Nick Almanza
(512) 463-0121
Zaffirini Receives 2007 Communicator of the Year Award

(AUSTIN) -- Senator Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo, Friday (Oct. 5) received the 2007 Communicator of the Year award from the Texas Speech Communication Association (TSCA) at its annual conference in San Antonio. TSCA is a professional and academic association committed to excellence in communication, increasing awareness of political dialogue and the use of proper communication skills in the classroom and work environment. Its membership includes educators, students, consultants and others interested in speech communication. Senator Zaffirini is among their lifetime members.

"It is a tremendous honor to be recognized by my colleagues as the 2007 Communicator of the Year, and I thank TSCA for uniting us in our commitment and dedication to advancing speech, communication and leadership skills," Senator Zaffirini said. "As an undergraduate and graduate communication student, I worked hard and learned to discuss, listen and negotiate successfully. As a senator, I use these skills to discover problems and work effectively to develop solutions through dialogue and consensus."

Senator Zaffirini is a communication specialist with 13 years of teaching experience, including at the college and university levels. Through her business, Zaffirini Communications, she provides communication services, including consulting, workshops and seminars, one-on-one coaching, keynote addresses and writing. A distinguished communicator, educator, and leader, she holds B.S., M.A., and PhD degrees from The University of Texas at Austin, each with a 3.9 grade-point average.

Senator Zaffirini has received more than 585 awards for her professional, leadership and public service work, including more than 100 for communication projects. This year she received a gavel from Lt. Governor David Dewhurst for casting her 38,530th consecutive vote in the Senate.