Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Judith Zaffirini: District 21
Press Release
January 23, 2007
Contact: Nick Almanza
(512) 463-0121
Statement from Senator Judith Zaffirini Regarding the 110th Washington's Birthday Celebration

AUSTIN -- "I am pleased to welcome representatives from the Washington's Birthday Celebration and the Laredo community to Austin as we invite Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst and Senate members to join us for the 110th Washington's Birthday Celebration. Today (Jan. 23) the Senate recognized Laredo's most cherished traditional event by passing Senate Resolution 17, which honors the Washington's Birthday Celebration Association of Laredo and welcomes representatives of its member organizations to the Texas Senate.

Our traditional fiesta, the longest celebrated in the nation, started on January 18 and ends on February 18. It is an opportunity for Laredoans to celebrate not only our fierce patriotism by honoring the father of our country, George Washington, and our very first First Lady, Martha Dandridge Washington, but also to honor our strong relationships with our sister city, sister state, and sister country, Mexico.

I was pleased and honored to be joined today in the Senate by the president of the Washington's Birthday Celebration Association, Richard Valls Jr., Adrienne Treviño, who will portray Martha Washington, and James Notzon, who will portray George Washington. Also joining us were Kristian Martinez, who will portray Princess Pocahontas; Brian Moreno, who will portray Chief Four Arrows; and the Celebration's Abrazo Children, who will exchange hugs at the middle of the international bridge at our international friendship ceremony. United States' representatives are Raquel Irene Barrientos Cárdenas and Luke Bently Lamberth, and Mexico's representatives are Dariela Maria Gomez Lozano and Maximiliano Arguindegui Mounetou.

What's more, I was proud to invite Senate members to join us in Laredo when we honor our 56th Mr. South Texas, Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst, at the annual Mr. South Texas Luncheon sponsored by the Laredo National Bank/BBVA Group.