Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa: District 20
Masthead Graphic
Press Release
May 19, 2016
Contact: Jennifer Saenz
(512) 463-0120 office
(512) 497-9411 cell
Nueces County Legislative Delegation Statement on Corpus Christi Boil Water Advisory
Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa, State Rep. Abel Herrero, & State Rep. Todd Hunter Continue to Monitor the Water Situation in Corpus Christi

AUSTIN, TX - The ongoing Corpus Christi Boil Water Advisory is of critical concern to us. It is imperative that our families have water that is clean and safe to drink.

As your state elected officials, our offices have been communicating with the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), the agency responsible for all aspects of planning, permitting, and monitoring the state’s water resources. Public safety is our top priority and we are committed to ensuring that our residents have access to a safe supply of drinking water.

It is critical that our state agencies work together with local government, city officials, and community leaders to communicate and coordinate their efforts to resolve this issue quickly and protect our public’s health.

Our offices will continue to monitor the water situation in Corpus Christi. We will work with local and state government agencies to provide any resources or guidance necessary to address the current situation and advocate for more training, better preparation, and a reliable plan of action to prevent future problems.

Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa proudly represents the counties of Nueces, Jim Wells, Brooks, and Hidalgo (part). Senator Hinojosa served as the Senate President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate in the 84th Texas Legislature. Senator Hinojosa currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, and serves on the Senate Committees on Natural Resources & Economic Development, Criminal Justice, Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs as well as the Sunset Advisory Commission.