Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa: District 20
Masthead Graphic
Press Release
May 29, 2015
Contact: Desiree Castro
(512) 463-0120 office
SB 900 Regarding Windstorm Insurance Reform Passes Texas legislature

AUSTIN, TX — Yesterday, the Texas Legislature passed SB 900, authored by Senator Larry Taylor from Friendswood and co-authored by Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa that relates to the operation of the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA). The bill creates an increased level of transparency and accountability, greater representation within the organization, and a restructured funding mechanism.

Senator Hinojosa issued the following statement:

"I am pleased with the legislation that my Senate colleague, Senator Larry Taylor, and I worked on to ensure that our Coastal Bend communities have access to affordable and available windstorm insurance coverage. Our goal with this legislation is to create windstorm coverage at an accessible and affordable rate for our Texas families."

Other significant highlights include:

  • Stabilizes TWIA's financial structure by meeting a 1 in 100 year Probable Maximum Loss, which is the industry standard in the voluntarymarket.
  • Restructures TWIA's board of directors to ensure equal representation
  • Authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to contract with a licensed TPA or MGA and adopt rules to administer and manage the Association, if necessary
  • Requires TWIA to study private market incentives to provide wind and hail coverage along the coast

SB 900 will now be sent to the Governor's desk for his signature.

Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa proudly represents the counties of Nueces, Jim Wells, Brooks, and Hidalgo (part). Senator Hinojosa serves as the Senate President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate in the 84th Texas Legislature. Senator Hinojosa currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, and serves on the Senate Committees on Natural Resources & Economic Development, Criminal Justice, Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs as well as the Legislative Budget Board (LBB), and the Sunset Advisory Commission.