Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa: District 20
Masthead Graphic
Press Release
May 22, 2015
Contact: Marcos Daniel Bustamante
(512) 463-0120 office
Texas Legislature Passes HB 194, Creating a State Recognition Day for Gold Star Mothers

AUSTIN, TX - Today, HB 194 authored by State Representative Four Price and sponsored by Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa was sent to the Governor's Desk with overwhelming approval. from the Texas Legislature. HB 194 creates a statewide memorial day for our Gold Star Mothers in Texas.

The gold star concept began during the United States' involvement in World War I. Upon paying the ultimate sacrifice in defense of our freedom, the mother of a fallen military service member stitched a gold star over the blue star of the service flag to honor her son or daughter who died in military service. These women become Gold Star Mothers. Once signed by the Governor, Texas Gold Star Mothers will be officially recognized on the last Sunday of September of each year.

Senator Hinojosa issued the following statement:

"I am pleased with the passage of HB 194 by the Texas Legislature. As a Vietnam Veteran for the United States Marine Corps, I understand the difficult sacrifices that our military families endure on a daily basis, especially the mothers of our military service men and women.

These Gold Star Mothers serve as an inspiration to all Texans. They have been left behind by a loving son or daughter, but have handled their loss with courage, grace and strength. HB 194 gives a day of recognition to honor our Texas Gold Star Mothers and show our appreciation for their sacrifices."

Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa proudly represents the counties of Nueces, Jim Wells, Brooks, and Hidalgo (part). Senator Hinojosa serves as the Senate President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate in the 84th Texas Legislature. Senator Hinojosa currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, and serves on the Senate Committees on Natural Resources & Economic Development, Criminal Justice, Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs as well as the Legislative Budget Board (LBB), and the Sunset Advisory Commission.