Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Joan Huffman: District 17
Press Release
July 10, 2009
Contact: Jonathan Stinson
(512) 463-0117
Lieutenant Governor Dewhurst Appoints Huffman to The Energy Council

AUSTIN — Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst announced the appointment of State Senator Joan Huffman (R-Southside Place) as a member-at-large to the Energy Council, a non-profit corporation designed to assist in the development of federal and state public policy on energy.

"I look forward to continuing the important discussions concerning energy development, consumption, and conservation," Huffman said. "This is an issue which is vital to our region of Texas and to the future of our country."

The Energy council was founded in 1975, in Texas, as the Southwest Regional Energy Council. The council's membership is comprised of elected officials from states that produce the majority of the United States' oil and gas, as well as coal, uranium and renewable energy.

Member states include: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and Wyoming. Five Canadian provinces are included as well, along with Venezuela.

The Energy Council is headquartered in Dallas and is funded by its member states. It holds quarterly conferences every year.