Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
Press Release
January 12, 2021
Contact: Katie Greer
(512) 463-0370

AUSTIN - After being re-elected with the highest vote total ever recorded in a Texas Senate race, Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, took the oath of office today as the Legislature reconvened for its 87th Regular Session.

"I am honored to continue serving my community and am ready to keep working hard to deliver results on the issues that matter most to our region," Senator Nelson said. "Economic recovery, public safety and mental health are some of my top budget priorities, along with keeping the historic commitment we made last session to public education."

Senator Nelson pre-filed legislation that improves the property tax appraisal system, supports state law enforcement officers and rescue organizations. Press releases on bills filed by Senator Nelson can be found here. The Legislature will meet in regular session for 140 days, as outlined by the Texas Constitution, and adjourn on Monday, May 31, 2021.

Senator Nelson serves as chair of the Senate Finance Committee, which determines the budget for the State of Texas. She also serves on State Affairs and co-chairs the Texas Privacy Protection Advisory Council.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.