Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
Press Release
October 22, 2019
Contact: Katie Greer
(512) 463-0112

AUSTIN, TX – Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, has received the Legislative Champion Award from the Texas Council on Family Violence. The award was presented to Senator Nelson in recognition of her dedication to survivors of violence which led to greater investments in ensuring their safety.

"As the statewide coalition, the Texas Council on Family Violence raises the voices of survivors through the agencies that serve them," said Gloria Aguilera Terry, CEO of TCFV. "Senator Nelson consistently leverages her legislative leadership to make statewide change with direct local impact. Her connection to survivor needs, local demands on agencies and profound understanding of complex dynamics sets her leadership apart."

In presenting the award, TCFV recognized Senator Nelson as a champion in removing obstacles for survivors to access much needed shelter and advocacy services.

"As Finance Chairman, I am proud of the serious investments we made this session on behalf of sexual assault and domestic violence survivors," said Senator Nelson. "We provided additional funding for rape crisis centers and domestic violence shelters, addressed the backlog of sexual assault kits, and created a new telemedicine program so that forensic nurses can provide their expertise to consult on the care for assault survivors across the state. Every survivor of sexual assault deserves compassionate care and justice."

With the help of organizations like TCFV and many courageous survivors, Senator Nelson has passed more than 30 pieces of legislation relating to sexual assault and domestic violence.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.