Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
Press Release
December 18, 2017
Contact: Alexa Hoisager

AUSTIN - The Denton County Transportation Authority (DCTA) recognized Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, last week for her efforts to improve public transportation in Denton County.

"As our community grows, it is essential that our transportation system expands with it. Having sponsored the original legislation creating DCTA, it is rewarding to see it grow and help address the mobility needs of our Metroplex,” Senator Nelson said.

Senator Nelson sponsored legislation in 2001 that created the framework for DCTA. During each legislative session since then, she has introduced bills to ensure it has the tools needed to develop transportation options in Denton County. This past session she authored SB 1179, allowing DCTA to partner with its member cities to build transportation infrastructure like new rail stations to improve mobility in the county. The agency recognized her efforts by presenting her with a commemorative gift.

"Senator Jane Nelson has always been an advocate for DCTA and the A-train in particular. Her unwavering support throughout the years has been vital to our agency," DCTA Board Chairman Charles Emery said. " We sincerely thank her for enabling us to fulfill our mission of providing safe, innovative and efficient mobility solutions for the many communities we serve."

DCTA operates the A-Train, which connects Denton to downtown Dallas, along with bus and campus shuttles, throughout Denton County. DCTA has won 24 industry and marketing awards this year from international, national and regional competitions.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.