Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
May 18, 2017
Contact: Melissa Duncan

AUSTIN – The Senate Finance Committee chaired by Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, today passed CSHB 2, which provides supplemental appropriations for the current 2016-2017 budget. Each session, the Legislature approves a supplemental budget to address revised revenue estimates and supplemental needs.

"This legislation protects the most vulnerable among us -- our children. It balances the ledger for our current budget and puts Texas in a strong position to meet the challenges ahead," Senator Nelson said.

CSHB 2, as passed today in committee, appropriates roughly $1 billion GR for FY 16-17, including:

  • $160 million to address needs at Child Protective Services, primarily to fund "critical needs" resources approved over the interim;
  • $794 million to address the Medicaid shortfall;
  • $4.5 million for needs in the Early Childhood Intervention program;
  • $7.4 million for Texas Forest Service reimbursement for aiding in the response to natural disasters, such as fires and flooding;
  • $80 million to pay current obligations related to the Constitutional requirement to provide Correctional Managed Healthcare;
  • New restrictions that prevent the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission from expending appropriated funds on travel outside the state; and
  • $80 million in savings from lease payment and bond debt service reductions at the Facilities Commission, Texas Public Finance Authority, and Texas Department of Transportation.

CSHB 2 will now go before the full Senate for consideration before returning to the Texas House of Representatives.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is chair of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.