Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
October 27, 2016
Contact: Melissa Duncan
Senator Nelson Appoints CPS Workgroup

AUSTIN - Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, appointed a workgroup yesterday to evaluate funding to address the ongoing crisis at Child Protective Services (CPS).

"We need a plan that keeps children safe. There is no issue of greater importance." Senator Nelson said. "This workgroup will review the agency's request for immediate funding and, in preparation for the next budget cycle, review the agency's entire proposed budget line by line to ensure that every dollar is being put toward successfully keeping children safe."

At yesterday's Senate Finance committee hearing, Senator Nelson directed the Department of Family and Protective Services to revise its request for immediate funding to address the most recent crisis by the end of today. The Senate Finance Workgroup on Child Protection will review that request and recommend a course of action to the Senate Finance Committee. The workgroup will also conduct a zero-based budgeting review of the agency's FY 18-19 appropriations request in preparation for the next budget cycle.

Senator Nelson appointed Senator Charles Schwertner, chair; Senator Brian Birdwell; Senator Lois Kolkhorst; Senator Kirk Watson; and Senator John Whitmire to the workgroup.

Additionally, Senator Nelson has requested daily updates from DFPS outlining their efforts to locate at-risk children.

"I am very concerned about the welfare and safety of the 511 children we discussed at our hearing, and I am asking for daily updates until that number reaches zero," Senator Nelson added.

Senator Jane Nelson represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.