Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
February 4, 2016
Contact: Melissa Duncan

AUSTIN — Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, has been recognized by Communities in Schools of Texas with a Legislative Advocacy Award acknowledging her advocacy and expressing appreciation for her dedication to Texas students during the 84th Legislative Session.

"I am incredibly honored to receive this award from Communities in Schools, which provides valuable support for Texas students to help them stay in school and achieve their educational goals. As a former teacher, I understand how important it is for students to be supported both inside and outside the classroom," Senator Nelson said.

Communities in Schools of North Texas' CEO Dana Smith said, “Senator Nelson has prudently approached her role as Finance Chair and we deeply respect how closely she evaluates programs to determine their worth. It is because of her diligence and dedication to students that the Communities In Schools of Texas network wanted to express our deep appreciation for her advocacy for effective programs, like Communities In Schools, during the 84th Legislative Session. She is making our state stronger.”

A former teacher and member of the Parent Teacher Association, Senator Nelson served two terms on the State Board of Education before joining the Senate. Through the years she fought to dedicate lottery proceeds to education; championed student health initiatives; and affirmed the rights of teachers to assign merit-based grades. This past legislative session, she worked to fund math and reading academies. She was also recently awarded 'Champion of Education Funding' by the Coalition for Education Funding.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.