Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
January 25, 2016
Contact: Melissa Duncan

AUSTIN — The Transition Legislative Oversight Committee (TLOC) met today to begin its review of the ongoing re-organization of Texas' health and human services system.

"We need strong oversight to ensure that this restructuring moves forward the right way. Our goal continues to be a cohesive system that improves coordination of care, eliminates inefficiencies and makes it easier for our most vulnerable citizens to connect with the services they need," Senator Nelson said.

TLOC was created under Senator Nelson's SB 200, the Sunset bill re-organizing the five independent agencies that make up the state's health and human services system. TLOC, which is charged with monitoring the transition and reporting its findings to the next Legislature, includes four members of the Senate, four members of the House and three members appointed by the Governor.

Today TLOC members were briefed on the system's progress by Health and Human Services Commission Executive Commissioner Chris Traylor who is scheduled to release an official transition plan by March 1, 2016. TLOC will meet again at 9:30 a.m. March 31, 2016. That hearing will include an overview of the transition plan, a briefing on the transfer of vocational rehabilitation services to the Texas Workforce Commission and an update on the consolidation of child abuse prevention programs at the Department of Family and Protective Services. Public testimony will be taken.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, co-chair of the Transition Legislative Oversight Committee, and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.