Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
January 28, 2014
Contact: Megan Hanson

AUSTIN — Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, was named an "ACU Conservative" by the American Conservative Union in the organization's first-ever scorecard ratings of votes cast in the most recent session of the Texas Legislature. The "ACU Conservative" designation is reserved for legislators who score an 80% or higher, with Senator Nelson receiving a score of 91%.

"It is an honor to receive this recognition for the work we accomplished on behalf of all Texans," said Senator Nelson. "Texas' economy was built on conservative principles, and we must defend those ideas as we work to ensure that our economy continues producing jobs and opportunities for our citizens. I appreciate that national organizations like this one are taking a closer look at what we are doing and how we have achieved our success."

The American Conservative Union began rating members of Congress in 1971, and in the last three years have expanded their ratings to State Legislatures. This is the first scorecard to be released on the Texas Legislature.

For her work during the 83rd Legislature, Senator Nelson has received several awards and recognitions, including a 100% rating and a Champion for Free Enterprise Award from the Texas Association of Business; the Courageous Conservative Award from the Texas Conservative Coalition; the 2013 Women's Health Hero Award from the Texas Women's Health Coalition; the Texas Champion for Children Award from Texas CASA; the Physicians Patient Advocacy Award from Texas Academy of Family Physicians; Senate Legislator of the Year from Texas Nurse Practitioners; and the Courageous Defender of Life Award from Texas Alliance for Life.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee and the highest ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.