Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
May 26, 2013
Contact: Megan Hanson

AUSTIN — The Texas Senate today adopted the conference committee report for SB 8 by Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R- Flower Mound, which enhances the state's ability to detect and prevent Medicaid fraud, waste and abuse.

"Medicaid fraud robs us of resources we desperately need to help those who truly need them. SB 8 will help to ensure that every dollar we spend for Medicaid is going to honest providers who provide proper services," said Senator Nelson. "It will also help us crack down on those who are defrauding the system and taking advantage of our Medicaid population. Texas cannot afford to let even one cent go towards fraud, waste and abuse."

The final version of the bill, which will now go to the Governor for his signature, includes provisions to:

  • Establish a unit at the Health and Human Services Commission to identify anomalies and red flags that could indicate Medicaid fraud, waste or abuse;
  • Confirm the Office of Inspector General's authority to investigate fraud, waste, and abuse across all health and human services programs;
  • Strengthen policies prohibiting the solicitation of Medicaid clients;
  • Transition medical transportation services to a regional, capitated delivery model;
  • Enhance policies to prevent inappropriate ambulance services;
  • Strengthen the standards for ambulance licensure to prevent fraudulent providers from operating in Texas; and
  • Exclude providers from the Texas Medicaid program who have been excluded from a state or federal health care program for fraudulent acts, or for injury to a child, senior, or individual with a disability.
SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health & Human Services.