Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
May 17, 2013
Contact: Megan Hanson

AUSTIN — The Texas House of Representatives today unanimously passed eight bills sponsored by Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound. The bills included:

SB 59 - Obsolete Reports: SB 59 eliminates or modifies approximately 100 obsolete or redundant reports identified by the Legislative Budget Board and other state agencies. "SB 59 increases government efficiency and eliminates waste. One of my top priorities this session was to make sure every tax dollar is spent appropriately and usefully, and this bill helps to accomplish that goal."

SB 946 - Lease Termination: SB 946 allows victims of stalking and other domestic violence crimes to terminate their lease agreements under certain circumstances. "By making it easier for victims to choose their safety over the financial impact of breaking a lease, this bill will keep domestic violence victims safe and allow them to feel comfortable in their own homes."

SB 948 - DCTA: SB 948 increases representation on the Denton County Transportation Authority board of directors, clarifies contracting issues and authorizes the Denton County Transportation Authority to join a Local Government Corporation. "This is an important piece of legislation for Denton County that will help improve public transportation and give the DCTA the tools it needs to better serve our rapidly-growing community."

The bills will now return to the Senate where changes between the House and Senate versions will be discussed and agreed upon before being sent to the Governor for his signature.

EDITOR'S NOTE: All quotes in the capsules above are attributable to Senator Nelson.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health & Human Services.