Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
May 25, 2011
Contact: Janet Elliott
House Passes Bill to Achieve Healthy Outcomes

AUSTIN — The Texas House today passed SB 8, legislation authored by Senator Jane Nelson to improve health care in Texas, despite attempted interference from the Obama administration. The bill now returns to the Senate for review of changes made by the House.

"This bill breaks down regulatory barriers to allow innovative health care delivery and payment models that will make health care more affordable and improve quality of care," Senator Nelson, R-Flower Mound, said.

Late in the legislative process, the Federal Trade Commission wrote a letter attacking the legislation. Senator Nelson objected to the attack as "irresponsible, inflammatory and inaccurate."

"The federal government needs to recognize that its paternalistic, 'one-size-fits-all' approach to health care is suffocating the states," she said.

Senate Bill 8 would:

  • allow providers who obtain a health care collaborative certificate to join together to improve quality and efficiency without the fear of violating antitrust and fee-splitting laws;
  • require a proposed health care collaborative be reviewed by the Texas Attorney General's office and obtain a certificate from the Texas Department of Insurance; and
  • create the Texas Institute of Health Care Quality and Efficiency as a forum for consumers, health care providers and insurers to make recommendation on effective health care delivery models and coordination of services.

"We want to better align the money we pay into our health care system with the results we want -- healthy patients," Senator Nelson said.

Senator Nelson represents Senate District 12, which includes portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Health & Human Services Committee.