Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
September 24, 2010
Contact: Janet Elliott
Senator Nelson Announces Grants to 21 Area Public Libraries

AUSTIN — Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, on Friday announced $199,351 worth of state grants to 21 public libraries in Senate District 12.

"Libraries promote literacy and lifelong learning," said Senator Nelson. "These grants provide important supplements to the local funding that keeps libraries alive."

The grants are among $6 million awarded to 542 accredited public libraries throughout the state. The Legislature created the Loan Star Libraries program in 2002. Local libraries may apply the grant funds in whatever ways best meet their users' needs.

In addition to books and periodicals, libraries provide the only free source of Internet access for 67 percent of Texas' population.

"A few years ago some were saying that the Internet would spell the end of libraries. As it turned out, Internet usage has driven more people to libraries," Senator Nelson said.

On Thursday Senator Nelson joined Keller Mayor Pat McGrail, Keller Councilman Tom Cawthra, State Librarian Peggy Rudd and Keller Library Director Jana Prock in presenting the grant to Keller Library, which received $8,556.

Other grants are: Azle - $7,272; Blue Mound - $3,706; Euless - $19,281; Grapevine - $11,060; Haltom City - $14,696; Haslet - $4,912; Hurst - $23,560; Justin - $4,322; Lake Dallas - $6,149; Lake Worth - $5,094; Little Elm - $6,075; North Richland Hills - $23,019; Ponder - $3,707; Richland Hills - $6,390; River Oaks - $4,747; Roanoke - $7,352; Saginaw - $6,245; The Colony - $12,995; Watauga - $11,486.

Senator photo

From left to right: Jana Prock, Keller Library Director, Tom Cawthra, Keller City Councilman, Pat McGrail, Mayor of Keller, Senator Jane Nelson, and Peggy Rudd, Director, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Photographer - Keith Macedo, Director of Information Services, City of Keller

Senator Nelson represents Senate District 12, which includes portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Health & Human Services Committee.