Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
January 12, 2010
Contact: Janet Elliott
Senator Nelson Honored for Helping Boys and Girls Clubs

AUSTIN — Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, received an award today from the Boys and Girls Clubs of Denton County in honor of her support in the Texas Legislature of after-school programs and other positive recreational outlets for young Texans. The award was presented during the Lake Cities Chamber of Commerce's monthly luncheon, which featured Senator Nelson as the keynote speaker.

"Our young people have so many competing interests for their time and attention, and not all of them are in their best interests. It is important for us to support organizations such as the Boys and Girls Clubs, which offer positive recreation and activities for our youth," Senator Nelson said. "I am honored to receive this award. More importantly, I am thankful for the work of this outstanding organization."

In presenting the award, the Boys and Girls Clubs of Denton County cited a bill authored by Senator Nelson in the 2009 session which was critical to its ability to continue helping at-risk youth. SB 68 by Senator Nelson was intended to help protect children in day care and to standardize the patchwork of child care licensing requirements that previously existed in state law.

"Without Senator Nelson's help many of the Boys and Girls Clubs in Texas may have had to close their doors," said J.B. "Babs" Troutman, president and chief professional officer of the Boys and Girls Clubs of Denton County. "Her support continues to demonstrate that the Clubs are the foundation to helping at-risk youth become better adults."

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health & Human Services.