Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
October 28, 2004
Contact: Dave Nelson

AUSTIN -- The Texas Municipal League will present its Distinguished Legislative Service Award tomorrow to Texas State Senator Jane Nelson R-Lewisville during an awards ceremony in Corpus Christi.

"We will continue to strengthen communities in Texas by maintaining good working relationships between our federal, state and local leaders. It is such an honor to receive this award from those local leaders who share my goal of building strong, healthy communities," Senator Nelson said.

During 78th regular session, Senator Nelson worked to implement the requirements of the federal Help America Vote Act of 2002. These requirements are intended to streamline the election process and increase voter turnout. During the deliberations, which extended into a special session, Senator Nelson fought to protect municipal election dates and procedures.

In selecting the award recipient, the TML Board considered those members of the legislature who passed TML priority bills or supported municipal positions.

The Texas Municipal League is a voluntary association of 1,070 member cities. It was established in 1913 for the purposes of serving the needs and advocating the interests of Texas cities.

Contact Person: Frank Sturzl, Texas Municipal League, 512-231-7400

Senator Jane Nelson, R-Lewisville, represents District 12, which includes parts of Tarrant and Denton counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health & Human Services.