Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
April 20, 2004
Contact: Dave Nelson

AUSTIN -- Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Lewisville, received a new committee assignment today as she joined fellow lawmakers at the State Capitol today for the beginning of the special session called by Governor Rick Perry on property tax relief and educational excellence.

Senator Nelson will continue serving as Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health & Human Services Committee and has added the title of Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Government Re-Organization, a natural fit for the current Vice Chairman of the Sunset Advisory Commission which is overseeing the re-authorization process for 30 state agencies, boards and commissions.

"I look forward to continuing our efforts to redefine the role of government in Texas. Last session we learned just how important it is to continually review our government services to ensure that they are being delivered in an efficient, responsive and cost-effective manner," Senator Nelson said.

The Senate met briefly today to discuss procedures for the 30-day special session and to name Senator Nelson's successor as President Pro Tem of the Senate, a title bestowed upon Senator Jeff Wentworth, R-San Antonio.

According to the Texas Constitution, tax bills must originate in the House before it can be considered by the Senate. To access information about legislation filed in the special session, visit

Senator Nelson represents District 12, which includes parts of Tarrant and Denton counties. Her current committee assignments include Chairman of Health & Human Services; Vice Chairman of the following 3 committees: Sunset Advisory Commission, Senate Government Reorganization, and the HB 2292 Oversight Committee; as well as a member of the powerful Finance and State Affairs committees.