ATTENTION: Your browser appears to have scripting disabled. Aspects of this website require that JavaScript be enabled to function properly.
To ensure full functionality, please enable JavaScript in your browser, or enable scripting for this website.
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
February 19, 2007
(512) 463-0300


(back row, L-to-R) Senators Carlos Uresti, Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa, Leticia Van de Putte and Kirk Watson stand with six veterans of the Battle of Iwo Jima on the occasion of the 62nd anniversary of that watershed conflict.

(AUSTIN) — The Senate today recognized the contributions of sailors and Marines on this, the 62nd anniversary of the start of the Battle of Iwo Jima during World War II. More than six thousand Americans and more than 20,000 Japanese soldiers were killed in the fighting on the small Pacific Island from February 19 - March 26, 1945. Six Texas veterans who fought on Iwo Jima were on hand today for the resolution memorializing their courage, valor and sacrifice in the battle that ended with 27 Medal of Honor citations, the most of any battle in U.S. History.

Visiting the Senate floor as part of the tribute were Iwo Jima veterans L.D. Cox, Stanley Johnson, Robert Bernal, Patrick Luckett, Jim McCorkedell, and Ernest L. Green. Senator Leticia Van de Putte, who sponsored today's resolution, said that no tribute is adequate to repay the honor and bravery that U.S. servicemen displayed at Iwo Jima. "Enough can not be said of these gentlemen. These are members of the Greatest Generation, and we most humbly thank you for service to our country," she said. "The state of Texas will remember your valor for generations and generations to come."

The Senate will reconvene Tuesday, February 20, at 10:30 a.m.

Session video and all other Senate webcast recordings can be accessed from the Senate website's Audio/Video Archive.