ATTENTION: Your browser appears to have scripting disabled. Aspects of this website require that JavaScript be enabled to function properly.
To ensure full functionality, please enable JavaScript in your browser, or enable scripting for this website.
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
March 2, 2001
(512) 463-0300
Banner: Star with Texas Flag

The Historical Celebration of Texas Independence Day

On March 1, 1836, in the town of Washington on the Brazos River, the Texas Declaration of Independence was written by the delegates of the Convention of 1836. The five authors, George C. Childress, James Gaines, Edward Conrad, Collin McKinney and Bailey Hardeman, were appointed by the delegates of the convention. Because a major highway and ferry were really the only main structures of the town, the town of Washington had nothing to offer. Housing was sparse, and the convention hall had no glass in the windows because it was only half finished, not to mention that the freezing temperatures made the event complete. Since the Alamo in San Antonio was under siege by General Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna's army of Mexico, the committee prepared the document in record time. The document was briefly reviewed, then adopted by the delegates of the convention and sent to the printers the following day, March 2, 1836. This powerful document declared Texas independent from Mexico that day, thus its name "The Texas Declaration of Independence."

Session video and all other Senate webcast recordings can be accessed from the Senate website's Audio/Video Archive.