ATTENTION: Your browser appears to have scripting disabled. Aspects of this website require that JavaScript be enabled to function properly.
To ensure full functionality, please enable JavaScript in your browser, or enable scripting for this website.
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
January 3, 2001
(512) 463-0300


AUSTIN - Lt. Governor Bill Ratliff announced committee chairs and membership for the 77th Regular Session. The following committees were appointed:

Administration - David Cain, Chair; Steve Ogden, Vice-Chair; J.E. "Buster" Brown, Mike Moncrief, Judith Zaffirini

Criminal Justice - Ken Armbrister, Chair;John Whitmire, Vice-Chair; Teel Bivins, Mike Moncrief, Steve Ogden, Todd Staples, Royce West

Business & Commerce - David Sibley, Chair;Troy Fraser, Vice-Chair; John Carona, Mike Jackson, Eddie Lucio Jr., Eliot Shapleigh, Leticia Van de Putte

Business & Commerce - Subcommittee on Border Affairs - Eddie Lucio Jr. Chair; Eliot Shapleigh, John Carona

Education - Teel Bivins, Chair; Judith Zaffirini, Vice-Chair; David Cain, Jane Nelson, David Sibley, Florence Shapiro, Todd Staples, Carlos Truan, Leticia Van de Putte

Finance - Rodney Ellis, Chair; Chris Harris, Vice-Chair; Gonzalo Barrientos, Robert Duncan, Troy Fraser,Tom Haywood, Mike Jackson, Jon Lindsay, Eddie Lucio Jr., Steve Ogden, Carlos Truan, John Whitmire, Judith Zaffirini

Legislative Budget Board - Rodney Ellis, Chris Harris, Florence Shapiro, John Whitmire

Health & Human Services - Mike Moncrief, Chair; John Carona Vice-Chair; David Bernsen, Mario Gallegos, Chris Harris, Frank L. Madla, Jane Nelson, Eliot Shapleigh, David Sibley

Intergovernmental Relations - Frank L. Madla, Chair; Jon Lindsay, Vice-Chair; David Cain, Florence Shapiro, Todd Staples, Royce West, John Whitmire

Jurisprudence - Royce West, Chair; David Bernsen, Vice-Chair; J.E.'Buster' Brown, Robert Duncan, Rodney Ellis, Mike Jackson, Jeff Wentworth

Natural Resources - J.E. 'Buster' Brown, Chair; Robert Duncan, Vice-Chair; Gonzalo Barrientos, David Bernsen,Teel Bivins,Tom Haywood, Eddie Lucio Jr.

Natural Resources: Subcommittee on Agriculture - Tom Haywood, Chair; David Bernsen, Robert Duncan

Nominations - Jane Nelson, Chair; Leticia Van de Putte, Vice-Chair; Gonzalo Barrientos,Mario Gallegos, Tom Haywood, Jon Lindsay, Jeff Wentworth

State Affairs - Florence Shapiro, Chair; Carlos Truan, Vice-Chair; Ken Armbrister, John Carona, Troy Fraser, Mario Gallegos, Chris Harris, Frank L. Madla, Eliot Shapleigh

Redistricting - Jeff Wentworth, Chair; Mike Jackson, Vice-Chair; Ken Armbrister, David Cain, Robert Duncan, Rodney Ellis, Florence Shapiro

Session video and all other Senate webcast recordings can be accessed from the Senate website's Audio/Video Archive.