ATTENTION: Your browser appears to have scripting disabled. Aspects of this website require that JavaScript be enabled to function properly.
To ensure full functionality, please enable JavaScript in your browser, or enable scripting for this website.
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
October 14, 1998
(512) 463-0300


AUSTIN - Two artists were chosen by the Texas State Artist Committee to serve as Texas State Artists for the 1998-99 term. Mr. Carl Rice Embrey of San Antonio was chosen for two-dimensional art. For the three-dimensional category, Mr. Edd Hayes of Humble was selected.

The committee reviewed the artists submitted works according to six factors including 1) merit of work, 2) history of life achievement, 3) work reflective of the rich artistic and cultural heritage of Texas, 4) record of donation of artwork to community or charitable causes, 5) critical reviews or articles concerning artists or artwork, and 6) letters of recommendation.

Committee members include Senators Jon Lindsay of Houston, serving as Co-Chair, David Cain of Dallas, and Steve Ogden of Bryan; and Representatives Barry Telford of Dekalb, serving as Co-Chair, Joe Crabb of Humble, and Norma Chavez of El Paso.

Session video and all other Senate webcast recordings can be accessed from the Senate website's Audio/Video Archive.