ATTENTION: Your browser appears to have scripting disabled. Aspects of this website require that JavaScript be enabled to function properly.
To ensure full functionality, please enable JavaScript in your browser, or enable scripting for this website.
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
September 16, 1998
(512) 463-0300

The Senate Interim Committee on Natural Resources Votes on Committee Reports

AUSTIN - The Senate Interim Committee on Natural Resources met at the Texas State Capitol today to discuss and vote on committee reports for five of the six charges assigned by Lt. Governor Bob Bullock.

Senator Brown opened the meeting with comments thanking committee members for their participation and hard work on the interim studies. The committee membership consists of Senators J.E. "Buster" Brown of Lake Jackson, serving as chair, Teel Bivins of Amarillo, Tom Haywood of Wichita Falls, Jon Lindsay of Houston, Eddie Lucio, Jr. of Brownsville, Steve Ogden of College Station, and Carlos F. Truan of Corpus Christi.

The committee unanimously adopted the interim reports on the Siting of Solid Waste facilities; granting of general licensing authority to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department; the implementation of SB 1876 and SB 1591; the operation of the Superfund and Voluntary Cleanup Programs at the TNRCC; and the implementation of the federal American Heritage Rivers Initiative. The committee is waiting on emissions inventory information from TNRCC before voting on the sixth and final charge. This should take place in November.

The committee stands recessed subject to the call of the chair.

Session video and all other Senate webcast recordings can be accessed from the Senate website's Audio/Video Archive.