Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Blue Ribbon Task Force on the Uninsured
NOTE: This is archived committee information from the 76th Legislative Session.

Committee Information

Sen. Chris Harris —CHAIR
Sen. David Bernsen
Sen. Eliot Shapleigh

Rep. Garnet Coleman
Rep. Craig Eiland
Rep. Bob Glaze

Nancy Wilson Dickey
John C. Goodman
Boone Powell


The following reports are available for download:

Interim Charges

  • The Blue Ribbon Task Force on the Uninsured was created by Senate Concurrent Resolution 6 during the 76th Legislature. The task force was created to examine the problem of Texans who lack health insurance, to review demographic trends relating to the uninsured population and to examine other state's programs, laws, and systems which address the lack of affordable health coverage. The task force will develop a market-based improvement plan to ensure that Texans have access to affordable health care coverage and prepare recommendations for consideration by the 77th Legislature. The nine member task force includes three public members appointed by the governor, three senators appointed by the lt. governor, and three representatives appointed by the speaker. The chair was elected by the members.