Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.: District 27
Lucio Masthead Graphic
Press Release
August 11, 2008
Contact: Doris Sanchez, Press Secretary
(512) 463-0385
IRT Committee To Hold Hearing On Economic Development, Affordable Housing, Access to Programs and Commerce Needs of Texas Rural Communities

AUSTIN, TX -- Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr., today announced the International Relations and Trade (IRT) Committee he chairs will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, Aug. 13, at the Capitol Extension in Room E1.028 at 9 a.m.

"We will be taking testimony on Charge 3, which directs our committee to research the unique economic development, affordable housing, access to programs and commerce needs of rural communities in Texas," explained Chairman Lucio.

Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst issued this and other charges to the IRT Committee so that the members make recommendations for legislation that will address these issues during the upcoming Eighty-first Legislative Session beginning January.

Specifically, the committee has been asked to:

Develop recommendations to better provide border and rural communities access to state and federal resources. Review the programs established by different states and recommend initiatives that Texas can enact to increase the competitiveness of these communities, engender critical development, provide affordable housing, identify community assets, retain/create wealth and create regional jobs. Study and make recommendations to expand business opportunities in international markets for businesses located in economically distressed areas, including rural and Border areas.

"We are seeking the experience, expertise and knowledge of the needs of rural communities from individuals statewide, which will prove of the utmost importance as we research this critical charge," added Sen. Lucio.

In addition to Chairman Lucio, other committee members include Senators Dan Patrick, vice-chairman, Craig Estes, Troy Fraser, Mario Gallegos Jr., Kel Seliger and Carlos Uresti.