Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.: District 27
Lucio Masthead Graphic
October 30, 2003
Contact: Doris Sanchez
(512) 463-0127
Sen. Lucio announces press conference to present
Advisory Committee of Senate District 27 Superintendents

Who: State Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr. and members of the Committee
What: Present goals and views of public school finance for South Texas
When: Monday, Nov. 3, 2003, at 12:45 pm
Where: J. Gordon Nix Building, 905 E. Tyler, Harlingen (Sign to show the way)

AUSTIN, TX--Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr. will present at the press conference members of the Advisory Committee of Senate District 27 Superintendents that he recently created to give South Texas a stronger voice in the work of the Joint Select Committee on Public School Finance, to which he was appointed July 2003.

These people are uniquely poised to know exactly how state legislation on public education issues would impact their local and neighboring districts, said Sen. Lucio. Therefore, I created this advisory group to obtain valuable input from superintendents in my senatorial district, so that we can achieve the goal of devising an equitable school finance plan for Texas. They will be invited to share their views and concerns with the media.

Sen. Lucio, who welcomes input from all superintendents, has appointed the following individuals to serve:

  • Mr. Arturo Guajardo, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD (Hidalgo County)
  • Dr. Dolores Munoz, Point Isabel ISD (Cameron County)
  • Mr. Johnny Pineda, Browsville ISD (Cameron County)
  • Mr. Lisandro Ramon, Lyford CISD (Willacy County)
  • Dr. Linda Wade, Harlingen CISD (Cameron County)
  • Dr. Suzanne Wesson, Kingsville ISD (Kleberg County)
  • Mr. Martin Pena, South Texas Association of Schools.

I'm very glad to be chosen by Sen. Lucio to serve on this committee. I will work hard to represent all members of my organization, from Corpus Christi to Brownsville, said Mr. Martin Pena, executive director of the South Texas Association of Schools. This committee will exert every effort to help develop legislative proposals that will equally benefit all students in Texas and specifically, students and teachers in South Texas.