Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.: District 27
Lucio Masthead Graphic
Press Release
January 6, 2000
Contact: Doris Sanchez
(512) 463-0127
Sen. Lucio Named by Comptroller Carole Keeton Rylander to e-Texas Legislative Advisory Committee

AUSTIN, TX--State Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr., D-Brownsville, was recently appointed by Texas Comptroller Carole Keeton Rylander as an advisor to the e-Texas commission, Rylander's citizen committee that will transform Texas government from its traditional bricks and mortar foundation to a national technological leader that uses bytes, chips and satellite airwaves to deliver services.

"I am pleased to be a part of this effort which will require great time and dedication from the many individuals participating," said Sen. Lucio. "I am confident this work will result in a thoroughly modernized and improved system for Texas residents, who are the ones who pay for these services and information, ," said Sen. Lucio.

"In our effort to have a smaller, smarter government, we must have the advice and counsel of lawmakers to realize these goals," Comptroller Rylander said. "I'm confident Sen. Lucio will be an integral part of the e-Texas team."

Sen. Robert Duncan, R-Lubbock, will be the commissioner of the Legislative Advisory Committee. Sen. Duncan's appointment was announced during Comptroller Rylander's kickoff in November of this groundbreaking initiative. At that time, she introduced the e-Texas co-chairpersons: Dr. Wendy Lee Gramm, The Honorable Thomas G. Loeffler and Hector De Leon, in addition to 13 commissioners who will lead various e-Texas task forces.

In addition to Sen. Lucio, the following senators have agreed to serve on the advisory committee: Ken Armbrister, D-Victoria; John Carona, R-Dallas; Rodney Ellis, D-Houston; Bill Ratliff, R-Mt. Pleasant; and Florence Shapiro, R-Plano.

House Representatives serving are: Jaime Capelo Jr., D-Corpus Christi; Wayne Christian, R-Center; Henry Cuellar, D-Laredo; Yvonne Davis, D-Dallas; Diane White Delisi, R-Temple; Peggy Hamric, R-Houston; Carl Isett, R-Lubbock; Rob Junell, D-San Angelo; Brian McCall, R-Plano; Rep. Anna Mowery, R-Ft. Worth; Jim Pitts, R Waxahachie; and Barry Telford, D-DeKalb.

The e-Texas commission will hold public hearings and focus groups in the coming months to assist with the Comptroller's goal of having Texas government accessible 24-hours-a-day, 7-days-a-week.

"It is an honor for me to be assisting Comptroller Rylander on this technological plan that will change the face of Texas government by making it more efficient and responsive to citizens' needs," said Sen. Lucio.