Masthead Graphic
Press Release
April 12, 2018
Contact: Paul Townsend
(512) 463-0120 office
(512) 853-0655 cell
A Reminder from Senator Hinojosa: Sales Tax Holiday on Emergency Preparation Supplies, April 28 - 30

AUSTIN, TX - Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa wants to remind Texans that the Texas Sales Tax Holiday on Emergency Preparation Supplies is coming up soon. Beginning Saturday, April 28 through midnight on Monday, April 30, Texans can purchase emergency supplies and hurricane-proofing materials without paying a sales tax.

In 2015, Senator Hinojosa authored and passed Senate Bill 904 to create this tax free weekend for all Texans to be better prepared for weather events or disasters, including hail storms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and more.

Senator Hinojosa issued the following statement:
"In 2015, I passed legislation to help families statewide get a tax break as they prepare for severe weather or other emergencies. Since that time, Texas has experienced Hurricane Harvey and several other natural disasters, including floods, tornadoes, and wildfires.

Unfortunately, we must be prepared for future emergency situations. I would urge Texans to use this tax free weekend to make sure they have an emergency preparedness plan and any supplies they need to protect their lives and property during and after a potential emergency."

Tax free items include certain portable generators and hurricane shutters, as well as smaller emergency and storm preparedness items such as weather radios, rope ladders, smoke detectors, fire extinguishers, and first aid kits. There is no limit on the number of qualifying items you can purchase. A full list of emergency preparation supplies can be found on the Comptroller's website:

Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa proudly represents the counties of Nueces, Jim Wells, Brooks, and Hidalgo (part). Senator Hinojosa served as the Senate President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate in the 84th Texas Legislature. Senator Hinojosa currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, and serves on the Senate Committees on Natural Resources & Economic Development, Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs and Transportation.