Masthead Graphic
Press Release
December 17, 2015
Contact: Roxanne De La Garza
(512) 463-0120 office
(956) 533-3609 cell

AUSTIN – Today, the Texas Transportation Commission awarded $3.33 million in grant funds to the City of Edinburg for the South Texas International Airport at Edinburg (STIA). The funds are from the federal Airport and Airway Improvement Act and the state Aviation Facilities Development and Financial Assistance Act.

Federal law authorizes the award of federal funding to preserve and improve the Texas general aviation system, of which the STIA is a part of. The STIA is one of over 300 general aviation airports in Texas and was among the 9 recipients of financial assistance from TxDOT.

This funding also includes the $3 million Senator Hinojosa secured through Rider 50 in TxDOTs budget during the legislative session for the STIA. These funds are for the engineering design and construction for a hangar to be utilized by the Department of Public Safety to stage emergency response equipment as well as aircraft.

Senator Hinojosa commented on the award's significance to the City of Edinburg and the South Texas region.

β€œIt is a priority to ensure the safety and security of our families living along the border. Adding a hangar to be used by DPS to stage emergency response equipment and aircraft will allow for a more rapid response in emergency situations. I am pleased the Texas Transportation Commission added an additional $300,000 to the $3 million the Legislature authorized through Rider 50,” said Hinojosa.

Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa proudly represents the counties of Nueces, Jim Wells, Brooks, and Hidalgo (part). Senator Hinojosa served as the Senate President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate in the 84th Texas Legislature. Senator Hinojosa currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, and serves on the Senate Committees on Natural Resources & Economic Development, Criminal Justice, Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs as well as the Legislative Budget Board (LBB), and the Sunset Advisory Commission.