Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
June 12, 2017
Contact: Dave Nelson

AUSTIN — Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, has been named to Capitol Inside's "Best Legislators" list for her work during the 85th Regular Session of the Texas Legislature.

"I am honored to receive this recognition for the fifth time. More importantly, it is my privilege to represent the people of Denton and Tarrant counties and to represent their principles and priorities in the Texas Senate," Senator Nelson said.

Capitol Inside is a nationally recognized online news source that has been covering Texas state government from an insider's perspective for over a decade. Its publisher, Mike Haley, described Senator Nelson as a "stabilizing force" and noted the challenges she faced as chair of the Senate Finance Committee in a tough budget cycle.

"Nelson was predictably undaunted by the inherent difficulty that came with the job of building a two-year budget that would keep pace with explosive growth and the ever-rising costs of services in a state where falling oil prices had precipitated a corresponding drop in projected revenues," he wrote, adding that the Senate "relied heavily on Nelson to steady the ship enough for everyone to do the only job that legislators are constitutionally bound to accomplish every two years."

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.