Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
January 18, 2017
Contact: Melissa Duncan

AUSTIN – Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, has been re-appointed as Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and as a member of the Senate State Affairs Committee.

"Just as any household or business, state government must live within its means. We will craft a responsible, compassionate budget that addresses our priority needs and keeps the economy growing," Senator Nelson said. "I am honored to serve the Texas taxpayers in this capacity and ready to work."

Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick announced Senate committee assignments today. "I am proud to re-appoint Senate Finance Chairman Jane Nelson and I congratulate her on the filing of Senate Bill 1," he said. "I know I speak for the people of Texas in thanking Chairman Nelson for her hard work in drafting this budget and the continued efforts she and the Senate Finance Committee will put forward as we begin the budget process.”

Senator Nelson is the Senate's highest ranking Republican and became the first woman in Texas history to chair a budget-writing committee when she was appointed chair of Finance in 2014. She is co-chair of the Transition Legislative Oversight Committee, which monitors the reorganization of Texas' health and human services agencies. She is also a member of the Legislative Budget Board, the Legislative Audit Committee, and the Partnership Advisory Commission.

Senator Jane Nelson represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.