Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
January 10, 2017
Contact: Melissa Duncan
85th Texas Legislature Convenes in Austin

AUSTIN – After being re-elected in November to serve the people of District 12, Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, took the oath of office today as the Legislature reconvened for its 85th Regular Session.

"I am honored to serve on behalf of the people of District 12, and I will fight every day for our values and priorities," said Senator Nelson. “We have our work cut out for us this session, but I am ready to work and confident we will pass a balanced budget that meets our needs, keeps the economy strong and prioritizes education, transportation and other important issues.”

Senator Nelson is the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate and serves as the chair of the Senate Finance Committee. She has filed a legislative package that includes bills to phase out the franchise tax, stop the abuse of emergency leave policies, and protect children from sex offenders.

The Legislature will meet in regular session for 140 days, as outlined by the Texas Constitution, and adjourn on May 29, 2017.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.