Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
April 30, 2014
Contact: Megan Hanson
Senator Nelson Receives Legislator of the Year Award

AUSTIN — Texas State Senator Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) received the "Legislator of the Year" award from the Texas Academy of Physician Assistants. The award recognizes her for "her foresight in modernizing the PA practice in Texas which both improves care and increases access to care for all Texans through passage of SB 406," according to Karrie Crosby PA-C, President of the Texas Academy of Physician Assistants.

"I want to thank the Texas Association of Physician Assistants for honoring me with its Legislator of the Year Award," said Senator Nelson. "Physician Assistants are a crucial part of our state's health care workforce, and I am so grateful for all of their work on behalf of Texans."

"With all the growing pressures and challenges on our health care system, it is perhaps even more important to recognize Senator Nelson for her leadership in crafting and navigating such monumental legislation through the legislative process which improves our health care system for every participating professional and most importantly for the patient," said Crosby. "SB 406 is truly a historical legislative effort which will be applauded across our State and our Nation for years to come."

Senator Nelson has recently received several awards for her work, including the Champion for Free Enterprise Award from the Texas Association of Business; the Courageous Conservative Award from the Texas Conservative Coalition; the 2013 Women's Health Hero Award from the Texas Women's Health Coalition; the Texas Champion for Children Award from Texas CASA; the Patient Protection Award from the Texas Medical Association; the Physicians Patient Advocacy Award from Texas Academy of Family Physicians; Senate Legislator of the Year from Texas Nurse Practitioners; and the Courageous Defender of Life Award from Texas Alliance for Life.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee and the highest ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.