Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
March 25, 2014
Contact: Megan Hanson

FLOWER MOUND, Texas - Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, is proud to announce that a local student from Senate District has been chosen as one of the 2014 class of Young Masters. The Texas Young Masters program is a joint initiative between the Texas Commission on the Arts (TCA) and the Texas Cultural Trust, recognizing excellence in 8th through 11th graders in dance, literary arts, media arts/film, music, musical theatre, theatre, and visual arts.

Montana Dalton of Frisco, an 11th-grade student at Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, was one of 20 students selected from applicants across the state for this highly competitive grant. With the Young Masters grant, Ms. Dalton plans to attend the Juilliard Summer Dance Intensive in New York this summer to study dance.

"We are proud to support our rising stars in Texas. I am pleased that this program will provide my constituent and other talented students across the state an opportunity to pursue advanced education in the arts," said Senator Nelson.

The state's most talented young artists receive the title of "Young Master" and are awarded grants of $2,500 per year for two years to pursue advanced study in their artistic discipline. The program nurtures Texas' rising stars to become legends of tomorrow and creates a mentoring relationship between student and instructor. This gifted group of 20 students represents the seventh class of Young Masters. The Trust and TCA have given 243 grants to 104 previous Young Masters, awarding $607,500 to aspiring artists over the past thirteen years.

"The Young Masters program was created as a way to recognize and support young people pursuing the dream of becoming prominent Texan artists of the next generation," said TCA Executive Director Gary Gibbs. "These young artists earned the Young Masters title because of their outstanding artistic ability, talent and dedication to developing their knowledge in their chosen discipline. We congratulate their accomplishments."

"The Texas Cultural Trust is honored to be able to support these remarkably talented young Texas artists," said Trust Chair Charles W. Matthews. "We are thrilled to enable these Young Masters to continue their artistic education and foster their creative training."

In order to be considered for the grant, students must be legal U.S. residents living in Texas and participating in a school-based program, a summer institute, or a specialized course of study or receiving private lessons from a qualified professional instructor. They must also maintain passing grades in all academic areas.

The Young Masters were selected by a citizen panel of experts from across the state based on artistic excellence, level of commitment and quality of their proposed plan of action.

About the Texas Commission on the Arts
TCA was organized in 1965 by the Texas Legislature to develop a receptive climate for the arts in Texas. TCA supports a diverse and innovative arts community in Texas, throughout the nation and internationally by providing resources to enhance economic development, arts education, cultural tourism and artist sustainability initiatives. For more information on TCA and its programs, please visit

About the Texas Cultural Trust
Established in 1995, the Texas Cultural Trust is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization whose mission is to inspire, integrate, and illuminate the arts in Texas. Their goal is to provide leadership to promote and highlight the importance of the arts in educating our children and sustaining our vibrant Texas economy. Supporting the arts ensures Texas' cultural and economic advantage for the future. For more information please visit

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee and the highest ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.