Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
December 9, 2013
Contact: Megan Hanson

AUSTIN — Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, received the 2013 Patient Protection Award and was named one of the best legislators from the 83rd legislative session by the Texas Medical Association. The award recognizes legislators who earned physicians' greatest gratitude on behalf of their patients.

"Senator Nelson stood for patients on numerous fronts this session by strengthening the physician-led, team-based model of care, requiring health care worker ID badges in hospitals, and improving Texas' immunization policies," said Jerry Hunsaker, MD, board chair of TEXPAC, TMA's political action committee.

"I was proud of what we accomplished this session to improve health care in Texas," said Senator Nelson. "Thank you to the Texas Medical Association for honoring me with this year's Patient Protection Award. I appreciate the recognition. More importantly, I appreciate your work on behalf of physicians and their patients."

For her work during the 83rd Legislature, Senator Nelson has received several awards, including the Champion for Free Enterprise Award from the Texas Association of Business; the Courageous Conservative Award from the Texas Conservative Coalition; the 2013 Women's Health Hero Award from the Texas Women's Health Coalition; the Texas Champion for Children Award from Texas CASA; the Physicians Patient Advocacy Award from Texas Academy of Family Physicians; Senate Legislator of the Year from Texas Nurse Practitioners; and the Courageous Defender of Life Award from Texas Alliance for Life.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee and the highest ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.