Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
October 8, 2013
Contact: Megan Hanson

AUSTIN — The ALS Association Texas Chapter recently presented its 2013 Legislative Achievement Award to Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, in Grapevine. Senator Nelson was selected for the award because of her efforts to help increase statewide awareness of Lou Gehrig's Disease and helping to educate members of the Texas legislature about the disease and the need for treatment and a cure.

"This is one of the most debilitating diseases affecting Texas families and I am deeply honored to receive this award," said Senator Nelson. "I am proud to support those families and the Association. We need to do more and I encourage others to support their important work."

"We are grateful for the efforts of Senator Jane Nelson, and the entire Texas Legislature for helping us raise awareness of ALS," said David Chayer, Executive Director of The ALS Association Texas Chapter. "Increasing awareness is an important step to funding critical programs, treatments and research, right here in the Dallas-Fort Worth area and across the state of Texas."

This is one of several awards Senator Nelson has received this year, including the Champion for Education Award from Notre Dame's Alliance for Catholic Education, the 2013 Women's Health Hero Award from the Texas Women's Health Coalition; the Texas Champion for Children Award from Texas CASA; the Physicians Patient Advocacy Award from Texas Academy of Family Physicians; Senate Legislator of the Year from Texas Nurse Practitioners; and the Courageous Defender of Life Award from Texas Alliance for Life.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee and the highest ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.