Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
August 28, 2012
Contact: Addie Smith

AUSTIN — Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, last night was re-appointed as Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services.

"I am honored to be re-appointed to this position and look forward to continuing our efforts to protect vulnerable Texans and to design an efficient, cost-effective health care system that promotes quality outcomes for our patients," said Senator Nelson. "Health and Human Services accounts for a third of the state budget, and we must remain conscious of our fiscal health as we work to improve the health of Texas citizens.

Senator Nelson also currently serves on the Senate Finance Committee, the Government Organization Committee and the Nominations Committee. She chairs the Medicaid Reform Oversight Committee and was recently appointed to the Joint Committee to Study School Finance. Senator Nelson was one of three committee chairmen announced yesterday, with additional changes to be announced in the weeks ahead.

"Senator Nelson is the most qualified member of the Texas Senate to lead the Health and Human Services Committee," said Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, who is responsible for committee appointments in the Texas Senate. "As we work together to rein in health care costs and fight the implementation of Obamacare in Texas, I am eager to work side-by-side with Senator Nelson again this session."

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health & Human Services.