Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
March 6, 2012
Contact: Addie Smith

AUSTIN — Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, today will help launch Texas' inaugural Women Veterans Month at a press conference at Texas Woman's University.

Texas is home to more than 150,000 female veterans -- the second highest in the nation. During the 2011 session, Senator Nelson authored SCR 16, designating March as Women Veterans Month in Texas. The bill passed both chambers unanimously.

"As the proud daughter of a World War II veteran, I was proud to author the legislation establishing March as Women Veterans Month in Texas," said Senator Nelson. "This month we honor the unique sacrifices, contributions and needs of the women who have served or continue to serve our nation."

Senator Nelson will join representatives of the Texas Woman's University; the Texas Veteran's Commission, including its newly created Women Veteran Coordinator; Grace After Fire, a North Texas non-profit that works to connect female veterans to services; and Hospital Corpsman Kate Cochran, a TWU student and veteran. Also among the distinguished guest speakers will be Major General Mary Saunders, a decorated veteran of the U.S. Air Force.

The press conference will be held today at 12pm in Hubbard Hall, Southeast Ballroom, on the campus of Texas Woman's University. It is open to any members of the public who would like to show support for Texas' female veterans. Counselors from the Texas Veterans Commission Claims, Education and Employment Counselors will be available to discuss claims, education, and employment services for veterans from 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. A reception will follow the press conference.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health & Human Services.